Community Forums > General > General Discussion > Patch 1.5 speed issue

Patch 1.5 speed issue

 Hank_Hill_


Grupo: Plano Padrão
Registrado em: 2 de Maio de 2016
Mensagens8
Editado 8 de Setembro de 2017 - 22:40:56 por Hank_Hill_
AOE Patch 1.5 is not normal speed. It shows "normal speed" but plays at fast speed to "simulate" 60fps.

Please put the speed normal to normal
URL | Responder | Citar
 Deathcounter_


Grupo: Plano Padrão
Registrado em: 7 de Maro de 2013
Mensagens46
Editado 25 de Setembro de 2017 - 12:43:23 por Deathcounter_
What did you smoke?
URL | Responder | Citar
 +Jineapple


Grupo: System Operator
Registrado em: 5 de Setembro de 2015
Mensagens179
Editado 26 de Setembro de 2017 - 18:05:12 por +Jineapple
Quote:
After research from TheMax and Jupe, it was discovered that although the Normal game speed for all CD versions from v1.0c to v1.4 is set as 60 game seconds to 32 real world seconds, due to bugs in the ES timing implementation, those versions had a variability that would shift it as far as 60s-38.5s under poor network conditions. In other words, a game on v1.0c would start at 60s-32s, shift to 60s-35s after a few moments in the dark age, become 60s-36s for a few minutes during feudal age, drop to 60s-34s for a while in castle age, go back up to 60s-36s, etc.

These timing bugs have been fixed in v1.5, which now has a stable, consistent game speed. The side effect of this, though, is that the original 60s-32s would never slow down as it did in the past, which resulted in the true sense that it was running faster. With the data provided by TheMax, it seems that the expected speed for multiplayer on the CD version is around 60s-35.5s. In the next build, we'll switch to this locked rate and see if it feels as most would expect, as the goal is to remain consistent with the game experience of v1.0c.

This change has already been done (This quote was from around the first or second beta version), with MP game speed set at 60s:35.5s

It will feel different, because the speed is consitent now, and there's also less input delay, but the actual gamespeed is very similar to the aoc 1.4 average. Just play a bit, you'll get used to it :)
URL | Responder | Citar
 NoimM


Grupo: Plano Padrão
Registrado em: 30 de Julho de 2012
Mensagens2
Postado 10 de Outubro de 2017 - 20:01:23
it's not the same, the speed too fast, pls change it to '' old version normal speed''
URL | Responder | Citar
 [WOTC]WolfSilver


Grupo: Plano Ouro
Registrado em: 7 de Abril de 2015
Mensagens109
Postado 11 de Outubro de 2017 - 12:42:02
For me looks same but more stable and fluid
URL | Responder | Citar
 _THEM0Nk_


Grupo: Plano Ouro
Registrado em: 26 de Fevereiro de 2008
Mensagens79
Postado 11 de Outubro de 2017 - 13:44:58
For me looks same but more stable and fluid

1
URL | Responder | Citar
 NoimM


Grupo: Plano Padrão
Registrado em: 30 de Julho de 2012
Mensagens2
Postado 12 de Outubro de 2017 - 13:17:25
is that a version that i can chose the old normal speed?
URL | Responder | Citar
 +Jineapple


Grupo: System Operator
Registrado em: 5 de Setembro de 2015
Mensagens179
Postado 12 de Outubro de 2017 - 13:28:16
You can't make changes to how gamespeed works when playing 1.5 (anything like that would introduce a lot more problems than it would solve). The average gamespeed hasn't changed (or only very slightly), it's just consistent now, plus there's a significantly reduced input delay, which can also make it "feel" faster. You'll get used to it when you play enough games :)


URL | Responder | Citar
[1]
Exibindo 1 - 8 de 8 mensagens
Ir ao Fórum:
2 Usuário(s) estão lendo este tópico (Nos últimos 30 minutos)
0 membros, 2 convidado(s)

Most active threads in past week: